Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
  The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency permits coordinated and effective governmental action to assure the protection of the environment by abating and controlling pollution on a systematic basis. The EPA divides the United States into 10 regions for environmental purposes. New Mexico is located in Region 6 of the EPA. Region 6 also includes; Texas, Oklahoma, Louisana, and Arkansas. The EPA was created on December 2, 1970 by Congressional legislation.
The EPA is currently conducting a Remedial Investigation/Feasibility Study at the Molycorp mine site and in and around Questa, New Mexico as part of the Superfund process. Molycorp became a Superfund site at the request of then New Mexico Governor Gary Johnson on May 11, 2000.

More Info:
  • Environmental Protection Agency
  • EPA Region 6
  • Go back
    Glossary Index

    Website © Río Colorado Reclamation Committee
    Website Design by Meatball Web Design